RELEASES 2024 plus previous years until 2015

VOD141: Tone Set ‚Such Heavy Conviction’ - Recordings 81-83

limited 500, 5Lp/7inch-Set,

Tone Set was a Minimal/Synth duo founded by Galen Herod and Greg Horn in Tempe, Arizona- existing from 1981 to 1983.
Their early sound was ostensibly synthetic, mixing analog synths and primitive drum machines with snippets of found speech in place of vocals.
Their first release, the 1982 cassette "Cal's Ranch" was recorded almost entirely without singing at their home studio 'The Center for Advanced Studies'. That year, Tone Set contributed the track "Out, Out" to Placebo Record's "Amuck" compilation which featured the Meat Puppets and other new Phoenix bands. Under the guise of "Happy People", they also contributed the song "Happy People" to the release.
Vocals started to become a more prominent part of their sound by the time they recorded their 1983 EP, "Calibrate". The first side featured three synth pop songs. The only other vocals on the record consisting of the line "wiggling around in Middletown" on the second side of the EP, culled from the "Cal's Ranch" sessions. "Calibrate" was released in February 1983 on their own label, Pegna Records.
The duo also performed as "Life Is Busy", "The Art Farmers" and "The Special Eds" as outlets for their different types of songwriting styles, from ambient to no wave art funk. The "Life is Busy" repertoire became the later, poppier songs of Tone Set.
A video for "Life is Busy" was produced using found footage, just like the vocals of most of their songs (search YouTube). It aired on MTV's "Basement Tapes," where, despite the presence of Mark Mothersbaugh (Devo) as one of the judges, it didn't get enough votes for rotation. Foolish humans. However,  Cinemax licensed it for in-between movie entertainment.
In 1983, Galen and Greg began releasing solo cassettes, leaving many previously unreleased recordings behind (62 of them!) which now finally find their well deserved release on Vinyl-on-Demand. (VOD 141)

A must-have for serious fans and collectors of 80's minimal/synth cold/wave.
Promo-Trailers can be viewed at (or just search for "Tone Set Promo", there are several)
Also available is a 4 LP set of Galen's pre Tone Set solo works, all minimal homemade synth wanderings (VOD 139). Look for an upcoming VOD releases of Greg Horn's post Tone Set solo recordings.


LP 2A CALIBRATE 12" songsand other songs from same session

LP 2B: Masters of Funk

LP 3: Unreleased Classic Tone Set

LP4A: The Last Tone Set

LP4B: The Earliest Tone Set

LP 5: The Alternate Cal's Ranch

The Bonus SINGLE


Detailed Tracklist available on VOD-Website in Shop

A1 Introduction  0:08
A2 Out, Out! 4:04
A3 He's got a little Dog 5:5
2A4 Predictions 5:36
A5 The Devil Makes The Loudest Noise  6:51
A6 Waiting For Oatmeal  3:32
B1: Thank you very much Henry 0:26
B2: Indeed 3:42
B3: Relax 4:06
B4: What Good's a Hit Song 3:29
B5: The Tone Set  3:54
B6 Appeal To Them  3:22
B7: Wigglin Around the Middletown 7:09
B8: Close  0:27

LP 2A CALIBRATE 12" songsand other songs from same session
A1 Life is Busy 4:00
A2 Living in Another Land 5:54
A3 Slim 4:39
A4 Working in Pencil Factory 3:35
A5 Is Different Colour 3:35
A6 Milo the Dog 4:19
A7 Postlude 1:52

LP 2B Masters of Funk
A1 Wait a Minute 4:57
A2 He was Ready edit 5:56
A3 remember your past 7:24
A4 Whispered a Mute 2:10
A5 Check it out 7:04
LP 3: Unreleased Classic Tone Set
A1 home movies 6:13
A2 Gymnastics EDIT 8:05
A3 clever androids EDIT 3:20
A4 Something without purpose 2:09
A5 I'm sorry 7:27
B1 Lowdown 3:43
B2 The Penguin Story 4:21
B3 ...and the throb of the rush hour 4:51
B4 A Valid Legitimate Thriving Necessary Art Form 3:54
B5 The Ice Planet or Planet of Ice 3.41
B6 end of a wedding beginning of a marriage 2:13
B7 Matumbi will never return 5:16

LP4A: The Last Tone Set
A1 Burning up at me 5:53
A2 Didn't wanna go 4:10
A3 Summer Camp 3:39
A4 Rules 3:18
A5 Get this Straight 1:57
A6 Splem 2:51
A7 She saw me (Ted was bored) 2:17
A8 the face in the tuna 2:29

LP 4B: The Earliest Tone Set
B1 Waltzing Around (with Babies and Stuff) 3:28
B2 Vacation in my head 5:04
B3 The Bread Line 4:37
B4 Clustery 3:13 (from “Happiness (Part 1)”)
B5 Happy People 3:24 (from “Happiness (Part 1)”)
B6 Here Comes Fun! 2:29 (from “Happiness (Part 1)”)
B7 I hate this Music 2:31 (from “Happiness (Part 1)”)
B8 Schlippen das Duke 2:21 (from “Happiness (Part 1)”)
LP 5: The Alternate Cal's Ranch
A1 out, out! v1 5:28
A2 the devil makes the loudest noise v1 edit 7:01
A3 Meet Mr Clifford 5:30
A4 The old religion 2:54
A5 what good's a hit song v1 6:32
B1 Indeed v1 4:13
B2 relax v1 7:57
B3 the tone set (full version) 8:37
B4 middletown v1 6:21
A1 12 Tone-Set O Grams 4:17
A2 Moving to Iceland 3:36
B1 Travis 3:16
B2 Slocum Grundish 3.26B3 Do Pokey Hoot 3:08
69,00 € incl. MwSt plus shipping